The community is northeast of Fairbanks, and 29 miles southwest of Circle, on the Steese Highway. It lies at approximately 65° 29' N Latitude, 144° 38' W Longitude (Sec. 34, T008N, R015E, Fairbanks Meridian). The community is located in the Fairbanks Recording District. The area encompasses 53 sq. miles of land and 1 sq. miles of water.
The hot springs were used by area Athabascans prior to the gold rush. The first non-Native to discover the springs was William Greats, in 1893, and the springs
were probably used by local miners. In 1905, Cassius Monohan homesteaded 106 acres around the springs, and sold it to Franklin Leach in 1909, who developed a resort.
The Circle Springs post office was established in 1924.
The 1937 Goldfields Edition of The Fairbanks News-Miner had a very good article about Circle Hot Springs and a large ad for the resort - you can see it here.
To Community Histories Index
To the main
Department of Community and Economic Development
Alaska Community Database Online
History and map graphic used with permission from the Alaska Department of Community and Economic Development